Interviews Begin for Western Nebraska Judgeship

May 11th, 2011

The Nebraska Judicial Nominating Commission has begun interviewing candidates for the 12th Judicial District Court Judgeship.  The judgeship is available due to the retirement of Judge Brian Silverman.

Several western Nebraska attorneys have announced their candidacy for the position.  The candidates include:

Brian Lockwood – Scottsbluff, NE Lawyer and Public Defender

Doug Warner – Scottsbluff, NE Lawyer and Scotts Bluff County Attorney

Paul Schaub – Sidney, NE Lawyer and Cheyenne County Attorney

Jean Rhodes – Bridgeport, NE Lawyer and former Morrill County Attorney

Paul Wess – Chadron, NE Lawyer

Vance Haug – Chadron, NE Lawyer and Dawes County Attorney

Meredith Peterson – Pine Dale, Wyoming Lawyer

The 12th Judicial District encompasses Sioux, Dawes, Sheridan, Box Butte, Scotts Bluff, Morrill, Garden, Grant, Banner, Kimball, Cheyenne, and Deuel Counties in Nebraska.  It also includes the cities of Scottsbluff,  Gering, Kimball, Sidney, Chadron, Alliance, and Bridgeport.

The Judicial Districts of Nebraska Map

Warning:  This information is not intended to constitute legal advice and should not be relied upon in lieu of consultation with appropriate legal advisors in your own area or jurisdiction.


Kovarik, Ellison & Mathis is a general practice law firm conveniently located in Gering, NE.  Our lawyers serve the entire State of Nebraska, including Scottsbluff, NE and surrounding communities.